## TCS Awards for Best Outgoing Student and Best B.Tech Project

As part of the MoU signed with NIT Calicut, M/s. Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) Ltd. instituted awards for the *Best Outgoing Student* and the *Best B.Tech (Computer Science and Engg.) Project* of NITC. The following students were selected for these awards for the year 2014-15:

## **Best Outgoing Student**

Mr. Angkur Jyoti Dipanka Shaikeea (Dept. of Mechanical Engineering)

## Best B. Tech (CSE) Project

**Mr. Mevin Dominic, Mr. Karun Thankachan and Mr. Anup Kumar** Project Title: American Sign Language Recognition Project Guide: Ms. Lijiya A, Assistant Professor, CSED

The above awards were distributed in a function held on 11<sup>th</sup> September 2015 at the CSED Seminar Hall, NIT Calicut.

The function was presided over by Dr. A P Shashikala (Dean- Academic & Chairperson of the Selection Committee for Best Outgoing Student). Dr. K A Abdul Nazeer (HOD, Dept. of CSE) welcomed the dignitaries to the function.

In her presidential address, Dr. Shashikala extended hearty congratulations to the award winners. She also read the message from the Director Dr. Sivaji Chakravorti, who could not attend the function as he was away from the campus due to other official commitments. The message from the Director was highly motivating and immensely inspiring to the awardees and the audience.

The Chief Guest, Prof. S. Chandrakaran addressed the gathering and congratulated the award winners. He also lauded the CSE Department for its social endeavours undertaken in addition to the academic pursuit.

Guest of honour Mr. Suresh Venkataraman (Senior Consultant and Delivery Head, TCS Kochi), who is also an alumnus of NITC who completed his Masters in Computer Applications from the CSE Dept in 1998, shared the vision of TCS to encourage young minds.

Dr. M L Joy (Dean- Students Welfare) and Dr. T K Suresh Babu (Professor and Head, Training & Placement) felicitated the award winners. Other dignitaries who witnessed the function include Dr. Vineeth Paleri (Professor, CSED & Member of the Selection Committee for Best Outgoing Student), Dr. Sajith A S (Associate Dean- Students Welfare & Member of the Selection Committee for Best Outgoing Student,) Dr. Priya Chandran (Professor & Former HOD, CSED), Dr. S D Madhu Kumar (Former HOD, CSED who took the lead in signing the MoU with TCS), Dr. M D Narayanan (Associate Professor, MED & Faculty Adviser of Mr. Ankur Jyoti), Ms. Reeja George (Head, Academic Interface Programme, TCS Kerala), and faculty & staff members from CSED and other departments.

The Best Outgoing Student and the Best Project awards were presented by Dr. S Chandrakaran (Dean- P & D and Director in charge, NITC) and Mr. Suresh Venkataraman (Senior Consultant and Delivery Head, TCS Kochi), respectively.



Mr. Ankur Jyoti receiving the Best Outgoing Student Award from Prof. S Chandrakaran,Director-in-Charge



Mr. Mevin Dominic receiving the Best Project Award from Mr. Suresh Venkataraman



Mr. Karun Thankachan receiving the Best Project Award from Mr. Suresh Venkataraman



Mr. Anup Kumar receiving the Best Project award from Mr. Suresh Venkataraman

Receiving the *Best Outgoing Student Award*, Mr. Angkur Jyoti Dipanka Shaikeea dedicated the award to Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam and expressed his desire to contribute towards the development of the nation to fulfil Dr. Kalam's dream of building a developed nation by 2020. He also expressed his gratitude to the NITC family for the excellent academic environment that he experienced in his four years of stay here at NITC. Mr. Angkur is going to join the CalTech, California, USA for his higher studies.

Mr. Anup Kumar, one of the awardees for the *Best Project Award* extended gratitude to his alma mater and the Project Supervisor Ms. Lijiya A (Assistant Professor, CSED). He also expressed his desire to contribute to the society and the nation as a whole. Mr. Mevin Dominic, Mr. Karun Thankachan and Mr. Anup Kumar are currently employed in leading software companies *Sandvine*, *Dell* and *Oracle Server Technologies* respectively.

The function concluded with vote of thanks by Dr. Subashini R (Assistant Professor, CSED & Faculty-in-charge, NITC-TCS collaboration).

For more photos of the event, please visit the following link:

http://cse.nitc.ac.in/activities/tcs-awards-distribution-ceremony